Latest News Highlights

Rajapaksa Wins Sri Lanka Presidential Polls

Wednesday, 27th November 2019
President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, 7th President of Sri Lanka
Following a successful Presidential campaign of his party, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna, together with the Sri Lanka Peoples Freedom Alliance, and the Ceylon Workers Congress, veteran politician Gotabaya Rajapaksa, is the new President of Sri Lanka.  He was inaugurated on 16th November, replacing the outgoing  Sirisena Maithripala whose term of office ended on 17th November, 2019. In an election with a turn-out of 80%, President Gotabaya Rajapaksa got 52.2% of the vote while his rival got 41.9% .

 The new President is a well-known figure in Sri Lanka. Gotabaya Rajapaksa  has played many important roles in the recent history and development of his country; roles which proved advantageous to him in the long-fought election campaign. Among these is his widely acknowledged contribution to ushering peace to Sri Lanka by ending the 26-year civil war in the country.

Upon assumption of office, the President made new cabinet appointments including those of Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs.The post of Prime Minister was given to Mahinda Rajapaksa, a veteran leader who himself served as Sri Lankan  President from 19th November, 2005 to 9th January, 2015. The newly appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs is Dinesh Gunawardena, a seasoned parliamentarian who has held several ministerial portfolios since his entry to parliament in 2000; including the portfolios of  transport, environment,education, water supply and urban development.